Anker 521 capacity: what devices and runtime should you expect?

Anker 521 delivers 256Wh for the actual usable capacity after inverter efficiency losses question, so expect modest runtime from a 300W portable power station.

Anker 521 Portable Power Station A1720
Anker 521 Portable Power Station A1720
4.4/5 from 3,055 ratings
$169.99

Check price

We selected it from the portable power station options we evaluated because its capacity and output pairing made the answer concrete.

Anker 521’s 256Wh capacity and 300W output limits

That 256Wh rating is the stored energy figure, not the runtime itself, so inverter losses will reduce what reaches your devices. The 300W AC output is the other limit that matters here, and it is the number that decides whether startup loads trip the unit. This question matters for a portable power station buyer because a small box of backup power can run a device briefly even when its battery size looks adequate. The Anker 521 is a compact backup battery station with 2 AC outlets, 2 USB-A ports, 1 USB-C port, and 1 car outlet.

You can see our final verdict in the full Anker 521 review.

What to Check Before Buying the Anker 521

  • Check the running wattage of each device you plan to power, then add the startup surge for motors, pumps, or compressors.
  • Check whether your wall recharge plan can tolerate a full charge cycle that is not stated here, since that timing is not given.
  • Check the size and weight limits of your trunk, shelf, or carry point before you count on easy transport.
  • Check whether you need app control or a firmware update; neither is listed among the stated features here.
  • Check your noise tolerance if you plan to place it near a bed, tent, or desk, because fan output is not stated.

Where the Anker 521 Fits Among Portable Power Stations

Anker 521 fits you if you want a LiFePO4 unit with 6 total ports, 5-year warranty coverage, and a 256Wh battery for small loads. If you need a station for kettles, microwaves, or other heavier home backup loads, look at larger AC output and higher capacity instead. Buyers who want longer runtime for laptops, routers, or phone charging can stay in this size class, while buyers who need sustained appliance power should move up to a bigger portable power station.

If you are heading into the wilderness, explore the best portable power station for hiking.

Choose Anker 521 if your goal is short backup sessions for light electronics and you value LiFePO4 chemistry, USB-C fast charging support, and a 5-year warranty. If your devices need long runtime or high startup power, this capacity class is too small for that job.

For those spending time on the water, view our top-rated portable power station for fishing.

Warranty details: see the official Anker warranty page.

Scroll to Top