What to check before buying the Anker 521 for your home backup or camping setup

Anker 521 can handle your home backup or camping setup if you need a 300W ceiling and a 256Wh battery for modest loads.

Anker 521 Portable Power Station A1720
Anker 521 Portable Power Station A1720
4.4/5 from 3,055 ratings
$169.99

Check price

We picked it out of the portable power station options for a full review because those two figures decide the core fit.

For your setup, check the wall-outlet recharge time, the solar recharge time, and the load you plan to run. A portable power station like the Anker 521 matters here because a slow refill can leave you with a charged battery that is not ready for the next outage or trip.

If you are on a stricter budget, you can view our comparison of home backup units under $500.

What to Check Before Buying the Anker 521

  • Check whether your devices need pure sine wave AC. The Anker 521 does not state that output type, so CPAP machines and some laptops need extra caution.
  • Check your expected runtime against 256Wh after inverter losses. Usable energy will be lower than the rated capacity, so your own load matters more than the label.
  • Check the recharge path you plan to use.
  • Check the packed size and total weight with the DC adapter, car charging cable, and welcome guide included. Those accessories add bulk when you move it in a vehicle or carry it by hand.
  • Check whether fan noise could bother you in a tent or bedroom. Noise levels and cooling-fan behavior under high load are not stated.
  • Check whether you want app control or firmware updates. No proprietary app requirement is stated, so this stays a simple plug-in unit unless your own use case needs software control.

Anker 521 and the portable power station trade-offs

Anker 521 sits in the compact power-station class, with 2 AC outlets, 2 USB-A ports, 1 USB-C port, and 1 car outlet across 6 total ports. It uses LiFePO4 cells, supports USB-C fast charging, and carries a 5-year warranty, so it suits buyers who value long service life and simple output options over higher-wattage backup.

If you need to run heavier appliances, look at larger portable power station types with higher AC output and more stored energy. If you want a lighter grab-and-go unit for phones, laptops, and small electronics, the Anker 521 is the cleaner fit.

For those planning a trip outdoors, see how different models rank for camping use.

Choose the Anker 521 if your backup plan centers on low-draw devices, you want LiFePO4 chemistry, and you value the 5-year warranty. Skip it if your setup needs long runtimes, faster solar turnaround, or appliance-level AC output.

Warranty details: see the official Anker warranty page.

Scroll to Top