Anker 521 Portable Power Station A1720
$169.99 price checked September 2026
Anker 521 delivers 600W from a 256Wh pack, so it suits you if you need compact backup power.
256Wh battery capacity
- battery capacity
- 256Wh – below the 300Wh reference figure
- AC output power
- 300W – below the 600W AC output reference figure
2 deciding specs not stated
- AC outlet voltage
- Not stated in the listing – confirm with the seller before ordering
- recharge time
- Not stated in the listing – confirm with the seller before ordering
Suits apartment dwellers during short power outages
- Apartment dwellers during short power outages
- Car campers
- Students in dorm rooms
- Remote workers with a home office
$20 under the category median
- This Portable Power Station
- $169.99
- Median of the 92 Portable Power Stations we screened
- $189.99
- Range
- $107.99 to $1999
- Cheaper than this one
- 26 of those 92
Tick what applies to you – 6 things worth checking before you order
Its battery capacity is 256Wh, below the 300Wh figure – roughly the floor for a useful overnight phone/laptop backup.
Its battery capacity is 256Wh, below the 1000Wh figure – the point where you can run higher-draw appliances for meaningful periods.
Its AC output power is 300W, below the 600W AC output figure – covers many small appliances and most consumer electronics chargers.
Its AC output power is 300W, below the 1800W AC output figure – reaches the class that can handle kettles, microwaves, and many home backup loads.
This one is $169.99, at or below the $189.99 median of the 92 we screened – it undercuts 60 of them.
The listing does not state it – confirm with the seller before ordering.
What the Anker 521 Is, and Who For
Anker 521 Portable Power Station delivers 256Wh for you if you want light backup for phones and laptops.
If your setup needs a battery power station for a desk, car, or short outage, 1 USB-C port changes how many chargers you can plug in directly.
Anker 521 Portable Power Station fits that scenario with 256Wh of capacity and 2 AC outlets, so it handles small backup loads without adapters for every device.
We screened 92 Portable Power Stations and this is one of 15 chosen for a full review. Full reviews go to the most-rated products that pass screening, at most 2 per brand. This one has 3,055 buyer ratings, the 7th most of the 92 screened. The $169.99 price and 4.4 average across 3,055 ratings give context, not the reason for selection.
If you need a smaller unit, see our full Westinghouse 155Wh review.
How Price Review HQ picked: we started from the 200 most-reviewed portable power station listings in our retail dataset, removed duplicates, accessories and off-category products, and 92 qualified. This product is one of 15 from that pool chosen for a full review. Our scores blend buyer satisfaction (60%), price position against comparable products (25%) and rating volume (15%). Specifications come from manufacturer listings and ratings from verified Amazon buyer reviews (data checked September 2026).
The Short Answer on the Anker 521
Best for: you need a compact portable power station for light backup and device charging, and your loads stay within 300W AC.
Choose the Anker 521 if that matches your setup; it is around $169.99.
- Pro: The 256Wh battery gives you a small energy reserve for phones, tablets, and short laptop sessions.
- Pro: Its 300W AC output suits low-draw gear and avoids oversizing for simple charging jobs.
- Pro: Six ports, including 2 AC outlets, 2 USB-A ports, 1 USB-C port, and 1 car outlet, cover mixed charging needs.
- Con: The 256Wh capacity limits longer runtimes, so it is not the right pick for extended outages or higher-energy appliances.
- Con: The 300W output rules out many kitchen and home-backup loads, so you cannot plan on kettles or microwaves.
Don’t buy this if: you need a station that can run appliances needing 600W AC output or more.
Price assessment: At around $169.99, the price is fair for a 256Wh LiFePO4 unit with a 5-year warranty and a 300W inverter.
This is a small battery reserve, so choosing too little capacity can leave you paying for a return and then buying a larger station anyway.
Price Review HQ score: 8.3/10 (data-driven – see “How we picked” above)
You might also consider the Jackery Explorer 300 spec breakdown.
Medical users should consult our guide for the best portable power station for CPAP.
The Numbers on the Spec Sheet
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 256Wh |
| AC output power | 300W |
| Battery type | LiFePO4 |
| Ports | 6 total |
| AC outlets | 2 |
| USB-A ports | 2 |
| USB-C port | 1 |
| Car outlet | 1 |
| Warranty | 5-year warranty |
Battery capacity is the deciding spec that separates this Anker 521 most. It measures how much electrical energy the battery can store and later supply.
For a different brand option, view the MARBERO MBM82SE performance analysis.
Before You Buy: Portable Power Station Checklist
The first thing to check is the 256Wh capacity, because that is what decides whether this portable power station suits short backup jobs or leaves you short on runtime.
- ☐ Confirm your load stays within 300W — if your gear needs more, the AC outlets will not cover it and you will need a different unit.
- ☐ Check the battery capacity against the runtime you need — 256Wh can leave you recharging sooner than you expect if you want longer phone or laptop backup.
- ☐ Measure the weight before camping or tailgating use — the weight is not stated here, so you should not order it blind if carry comfort matters.
- ☐ Budget for wall or car refill time — recharge time is not stated, and a slow refill can leave you waiting when you need the station again the same day.
- ☐ Confirm your devices match the port mix — 2 AC outlets, 2 USB-A ports, 1 USB-C port, and 1 car outlet mean adapters may be needed if your gear uses a different connection.
- ☐ Check that LiFePO4 battery chemistry fits your priorities — it favors longer cycle life, while a buyer who needs lighter size should look elsewhere if weight is the main concern.
Do not buy this portable power station if you need longer runtime, heavier AC loads, or a clearly stated fast-recharge figure before you commit.
Performance in Practical Terms
What 300W AC output means for small appliances
Anker 521 gives you 300W of AC output, so it suits small appliances, chargers, and light backup loads. That rating matters more than the 256Wh battery size for startup load, because wattage decides whether the outlets can supply the momentary demand a device asks for.
If your load can start and run within that limit, the station can serve it; if the appliance needs more, the AC outlets are the bottleneck. A CPAP user should check the machine’s running draw and startup draw together, because overnight runtime depends on energy use, while the startup surge depends on output power.
How LiFePO4 battery chemistry affects lifespan
Anker 521 uses LiFePO4 cells and is rated for up to 10 years of battery lifespan. That chemistry matters when you want a portable power station that is built around longer cycle life rather than the lighter weight of NMC lithium-ion.
The 256Wh capacity means you have limited stored energy for long runtimes, even though the chemistry supports long service life. For an overnight CPAP setup, that capacity may be enough only if the machine draws little power; for larger sleep loads, you should compare your device’s watt-hour use against 256Wh before you rely on it. The 5-year warranty gives you a separate support window, but it does not change runtime.
How six ports support AC and USB charging
Anker 521 has 6 total ports: 2 AC outlets, 2 USB-A ports, 1 USB-C port, and 1 car outlet. That mix lets you run a small AC load while charging phones, tablets, or other USB gear without adapters.
The port count helps when you need several low-power devices at once, but it does not expand the 300W AC limit. USB-C fast charging is supported, so a phone or laptop that charges from USB-C can use the station directly, while the car outlet gives you one more 12V option for compatible gear. If your setup needs more than two AC plugs, this unit will not cover that without swapping devices.
Where the Anker 521 Sits Among the Alternatives
Anker 521 is the clearest price-and-capacity play here at around $169.99 with 256Wh and 300W AC output. It also uses LiFePO4 cells and includes 2 AC outlets, 2 USB-A ports, 1 USB-C port, and 1 car outlet.
- Compared with the SinKeu HP100, the 256Wh battery gives you more stored energy than its 146Wh pack.
- Against the Anker SOLIX C1000, the 300W AC output is the main trade-off; the C1000 is the stronger pick for higher-draw appliances.
- Versus the Anker SOLIX C300, this model adds one more USB-A port and one more car outlet, for a different port mix.
- Compared with the DBPOWER unit, the 5-year warranty is longer, which matters if you want a longer support window.
- Against the Portable Power Station 300W, the rating sits lower at 4.4 from 3,055 buyer ratings, while that rival is rated 4.3 from 580.
If you want the strongest AC output in this group, pick the Anker SOLIX C1000 instead. If your load is modest and you want LiFePO4 plus a 5-year warranty, Anker 521 is the more practical match.
What the deciding spec costs here: Measured as price per unit of AC output power, the reviewed product works out to $0.57 against a $0.46 median across the 89 other screened products that state the spec, and 52 of them deliver more of it per dollar. The cheapest screened product that beats its 300W is the Giomre M6 at $120.99 with 600W, which is $49 less than this one for more of the spec that decides this category.
What the price buys in stored energy and warranty
At around $169.99, the Anker 521 sits at the same price as the similar portable power station products we compared it against. You get 256Wh of stored energy, 300W of AC output, LiFePO4 cells, six ports, and a 5-year warranty, so the price is tied to modest capacity with a useful port mix rather than higher output.
You should pick the 521 when your load stays within 300W and you want LiFePO4 plus a 5-year warranty at this price. If you need more stored energy or more AC headroom, this is not the right spend; look for a larger battery capacity or higher output instead.
Where this sits in the buyer data: Among the 92 products screened for this category, this one’s 4.4 rating places it #26, on 3,055 ratings – above the 625-rating median of that group, so the average rests on more feedback than most of its comparables. On price it undercuts 60 of them.
What It Takes to Run the Anker 521
Getting the Anker 521 ready to use
A charged power source is the first thing you need, because the Anker 521 stores 256Wh and starts empty at delivery.
- Unpack the Anker 521, the DC adapter, the car charging cable, and the welcome guide.
- Connect the DC adapter to the charging input, then recharge the unit before first use.
- Use the two AC outlets for mains devices, the two USB-A ports for standard USB gear, the USB-C port for one USB-C device, or the car outlet for 12V accessories.
- Keep the load within 300W on AC, because that is the unit’s AC output limit.
- Check the socket type of any 12V accessory before use, if the plug format is not already stated on the item you plan to power.
Warranty and support: what to verify for this battery power station
Warranty cover can differ by seller and country.
- Check whether the seller covers the included DC adapter and car charging cable, since those are the charging parts in the box.
- Verify who handles support for the battery pack itself, because the 256Wh unit is the main item you would not want to replace casually.
- Confirm whether registration is needed for the warranty, because the product ships with a welcome guide rather than a stated registration process.
On the day it arrives, record the serial number and photograph the box contents before the return window closes.
Questions Buyers Ask About This Portable Power Station
Does the Anker 521 Portable Power Station stay quiet and cool, or does the fan get loud when I use it?
When you place a portable power station near a bed or tent, fan noise and heat matter more than the port count. The Anker 521 lists temperature control, but the noise level is not stated, so you can only confirm cooling support from the data here.
How much can the Anker 521 Portable Power Station run from one charge?
Anker 521 has a 256Wh battery and 300W AC output. That gives you a compact energy store for small electronics, but the stored energy is still limited for longer runtimes or larger loads.
Can the Anker 521 Portable Power Station handle a kettle or microwave?
No, the Anker 521 is rated for 300W of AC output. A kettle or microwave usually belongs in the higher-output class, so this unit is for lighter AC loads and charging gear instead.
Is the Anker 521 Portable Power Station worth buying for short outages or travel?
The Anker 521 is a LiFePO4 portable power station with 6 total ports, 2 AC outlets, 2 USB-A ports, 1 USB-C port, and 1 car outlet. It costs around $169.99 and carries a 4.4 average from 3,055 ratings, so it suits compact backup use where port variety matters more than high capacity.
Is the Anker 521 Right for You?
The Anker 521 suits 6 kinds of buyer and is the wrong choice for 5 jobs, listed below with the reason for each.
Who the Anker 521 is for, and what it does well
Who this portable power station suits
- Apartment dwellers during short power outages — 256Wh capacity and 300W-class AC output are enough for lights, routers, and charging small devices
- Car campers — 256Wh battery, 2 AC outlets, 2 USB-A ports, 1 USB-C port, and a car outlet cover the usual campsite charging setup
- Students in dorm rooms — compact backup power for laptops, phones, and a Wi-Fi router, with USB-C fast charging for modern devices
- Remote workers with a home office — enough output for a laptop, monitor, and networking gear during brief outages, plus a 5-year warranty for long-term ownership
- Photographers and content creators on location — multiple ports and portable 256Wh storage suit charging camera batteries, phones, and small accessories between shoots
- RV weekend travelers — car outlet plus AC and USB ports make it practical for light off-grid charging without needing a large generator
What this battery power station handles well
- Charging a laptop and phone during a blackout — 256Wh capacity and USB-C fast charging support small-device backup power
- Running a Wi-Fi router and modem for a few hours — 300W-class AC output is enough for low-power networking gear
- Camping lights and device charging — 2 AC outlets, 2 USB-A ports, and 1 USB-C port handle a small campsite load
- Camera battery and accessory charging on location — multiple ports and portable 256Wh storage fit light field work
- Keeping a dorm desk setup alive briefly — 2 AC outlets and 6 total ports support a laptop, charger, and phone
- Car-powered charging for road trips — the included car charging cable and car outlet make vehicle-based recharging practical
What this portable battery generator is the wrong choice for
- Running a microwave or kettle — 300W output is far below what kitchen heating appliances need
- Powering a space heater or hair dryer — the 300W-class output cannot handle high-wattage resistive loads
- Long-term fridge backup through a full outage — 256Wh capacity is too small for extended appliance runtimes
- Using as a full home backup for multiple rooms — 256Wh and 6 ports are too limited for house-wide loads
- Charging large power tools or a portable air conditioner — the 300W output limit rules out heavy-duty equipment
What to budget alongside this portable power station, and what to skip
Accessories worth buying with this portable power station
- AC charging cable — the included items list does not include one, so you need it to recharge from wall power
- Wall charger — the box includes a DC adapter and car charging cable, but not a mains charger for everyday outlet charging
- Solar panel — needed if you want off-grid recharging, since no solar panel is included
- Device charging cables — the unit has ports, but your phone, laptop, and other gear still need their own cables
- Extension cord — useful when the power station is placed away from the devices you want to run or charge
Accessories you can skip buying for this portable battery generator
- Extra USB-C fast charger — USB-C fast charging is already supported by the unit itself, so a separate fast-charge hub is unnecessary
- Car charging cable — it is already included in the box
- DC adapter — it is already included in the box
- Large inverter upgrade — the 300W-class output means a bigger inverter setup would be wasted on this battery size
Where to Buy This Battery Power Station
These retailers sell Portable Power Station generally – we do not track which of them has this particular model in stock, so check availability and the current price with the retailer before making a trip.
- Best Buy (online and physical stores) — in-store returns and a mix of mainstream models
- Home Depot (online and physical stores) — practical selection for home backup and outdoor use
- REI (online and physical stores) — specialist staff and camping/outdoor-focused assortment
- Walmart (online and physical stores) — broad mass-market selection and easy local pickup
- B&H Photo Video (online only) — breadth of range and knowledgeable category focus
- EcoFlow (online only) — specialist brand store for direct-from-manufacturer options
- Amazon (online only) — breadth of range across many brands and capacities
Trail users can view our comparison of the best portable power station for hiking.
Final Verdict on the Anker 521
You should choose the Anker 521 if your loads stay modest and you want a 256Wh portable power station with a 300W inverter. Around $169.99 buys LiFePO4 cells, two AC outlets, two USB-A ports, one USB-C port, and a 5-year warranty.
The 256Wh battery is the key limit here. It is the size of a small fuel tank in a generator, and it sets how much energy you can draw before the station needs a recharge. The 4.4 average from 3,055 buyers adds context, but the capacity and 300W output are the real decision points.
Skip it if: you need to run higher-draw appliances, or you want longer runtime from a single charge.
Warranty details: see the official Anker warranty page.
