Our Top 3 Picks for Emergency Backup
The best portable power station for emergency backup is the EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2, because its 80 min recharge suits outage recovery and steady backup use.
3 picks, 3 different buyers. Find the one whose description sounds like you and stop reading.
#1 – EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2
Best for: You want 1,024Wh storage and 1,800W AC output for outage backup with fast AC recharge.
$368.99
Why the EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 is our #1 pick
- $368.99 (premium among those compared)
- 4.7 rating from 4,679 ratings
battery capacity: 1024Wh · AC output power: 1800W
For comparison on battery capacity, two models we screened but did not pick: ALLWEI Portable Power Station 300W at 280Wh and BLUETTI AC70 Portable Power Station at 768Wh.
#2 – BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power Station
Best for: You want 1,152Wh capacity, 1,800W output, and a 1-hour recharge for a mid-size backup setup.
$448.99
Why the BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power Station is our #2 pick
- $448.99 (premium among those compared)
- 4.6 rating from 1,839 ratings
battery capacity: 1152Wh · AC output power: 1800W
Models we screened and left out, for reference on battery capacity: Anker SOLIX C1000 Portable Power Station at 1056wh and BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power Station at 1152Wh.
#3 – Jackery Explorer 500
Best for: You want a 518Wh unit with 110V AC and 500W output for lighter emergency backup loads.
$189
Why the Jackery Explorer 500 is our #3 pick
- $189 (entry among those compared)
- 4.6 rating from 9,633 ratings
battery capacity: 518Wh · AC output power: 500W
To put that battery capacity in context: OUPES Mega 1 Portable Power Station at 1024Wh and Baldr PIONEER1000 Portable Power Station at 808Wh, both screened and not picked.
If you are planning a trip to the water, see our roundup of fishing power stations.
You can also look at our spec breakdown of the Explorer 300.
How Price Review HQ picked: we started from the 200 most-reviewed portable power station listings in our retail dataset, removed duplicates, accessories and off-category products, and 92 qualified. The picks on this page were selected from those 92 candidates against this topic’s requirements. Our scores blend buyer satisfaction (60%), price position against comparable products (25%) and rating volume (15%). Specifications come from manufacturer listings and ratings from verified Amazon buyer reviews (data checked September 2026).
What We Recommend and Why
If your outage plan includes a microwave, a kettle, or other higher-draw appliances, outlet wattage decides the field faster than battery size does. A station with lower AC output can still serve lights and chargers, but it narrows your emergency list.
EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 is the fit here because its 1,800W output gives you more headroom than the Jackery Explorer 500, which is limited to 500W. Choose the BLUETTI AC180 if you want 1,152Wh and 8 outlets, and keep the Jackery in view only if you value 110V AC and a lower spend.
At Price Review HQ, we screened 92 Portable Power Stations and compared the 10 in the table on this page against this topic’s criteria. The shortlist runs from $189 to $448.99, and the median price of the 10 products in our comparison is $284.47.
For those needing a compact unit, view our full Westinghouse 155Wh review.
What This Page Concludes About Portable Power Stations for Emergency Backup
- Top pick: EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 at $368.99 (battery capacity: 1024Wh).
- Also picked: BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power Station at $448.99; Jackery Explorer 500 at $189.
- We compared 10 Portable Power Stations, from $159 to $448.99, median $284.47.
- Best buyer rating in the comparison: EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 at 4.7/5 from 4,679 ratings.
Portable Power Stations for Emergency Backup Compared Side by Side
| Product | Price | Rating | battery capacity | AC output power |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 | $368.99 | 4.7 (4,679 ratings) | 1024Wh | 1800W |
| BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power Station | $448.99 | 4.6 (1,839 ratings) | 1152Wh | 1800W |
| Jackery Explorer 500 | $189 | 4.6 (9,633 ratings) | 518Wh | 500W |
| BLUETTI AC70 Portable Power Station | $258.96 | 4.7 (727 ratings) | 768Wh | 1000W |
| Anker SOLIX C1000 Portable Power Station | $169.99 | 4.7 (1,701 ratings) | 1056wh | 1800W |
| BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power Station | $394.98 | 4.6 (1,651 ratings) | 1152Wh | 1800W |
| OUPES Mega 1 Portable Power Station | $339 | 4.6 (1,004 ratings) | 1024Wh | 2000W |
| Baldr PIONEER1000 Portable Power Station | $309.98 | 4.2 (2,586 ratings) | 808Wh | 1000W |
| Anker 521 Portable Power Station A1720 | $169.99 | 4.4 (3,055 ratings) | 256Wh | 300W |
| ALLWEI Portable Power Station 300W | $159 | 4.4 (2,156 ratings) | 280Wh | 300W |
Prices are approximate and move frequently – check the current price before deciding. “Not stated” means the manufacturer listing does not give that figure – we do not estimate it.
Among our top picks, EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 is the value leader because its $368.99 price for 1024Wh matters for emergency backup runtime per dollar.
The Full Review of Each Pick for Emergency Backup
The 3 picks below run from $189 to $448.99, reviewed in rank order.
EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2
DELTA 2 is the strongest emergency backup pick here because it pairs 1,024Wh of storage with 1,800W AC output and an 80-minute full recharge. That combination matters during outages, since stored energy and outlet power solve different problems.
What we like: The 1,024Wh battery gives you room for longer backup runs than smaller units, and the 1,800W inverter can cover many household loads. It also uses LiFePO4 chemistry and lists 3,000+ cycles, which helps explain why it suits repeated outage use. The 0-100% charge time is 80 minutes, so recovery after an outage is fast for this class.
Keep in mind: The 15 outlets help, but the AC output still sets the limit for any single heavy appliance. If you need overnight backup for a fridge plus lights, check the watt draw of both together before you count on runtime.
BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power Station
AC180 is the middle-ground backup choice because it combines 1,152Wh of capacity with 1,800W AC output and a 1-hour charge time. It also has 8 outlets and a 20 ms UPS switchover time, which matters if you want devices to keep running through a brief outage.
Its 1,440W AC input and 500W solar input also give you flexible recharge paths. The 20 ms UPS switchover is the key detail for desktop gear, routers, and other electronics that dislike a full reboot.
Keep in mind: BLUETTI does not list pass-through charging in the same wording here, so you should confirm that behavior if you want uninterrupted backup while it recharges. The 8-outlet layout is useful, but the 1,800W AC limit still governs what can run at once.
Jackery Explorer 500
Explorer 500 is the compact backup option here because it keeps the price lower and still gives you 518Wh of storage, pass-through charging support, and a 110V AC outlet. It suits lighter outage loads, not whole-room backup.
What we like: The 518Wh battery is enough for short backup jobs, and the 3 USB-A ports plus 2 DC ports help with phones, lights, and small electronics. Pass-through charging support is useful if you want the unit to power devices while it recharges. The 500W AC output makes the limits easy to read before you plug in a load.
Keep in mind: The 500W inverter is the main constraint, so this is not the pick for kettles, microwaves, or other heavier appliances. For a fridge during a blackout, check the fridge’s running watts and startup surge first, because the peak figure is 1,000W.
What to Look For in a Battery Power Station for Emergency Backup
Running Wattage For Essential Appliances
Look for at least 600W of AC output for running wattage, because that is the level that covers many small appliances and most chargers. EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 and BLUETTI AC180 each list 1,800W, so they give you room for heavier household loads than Jackery Explorer 500, which lists 500W. The 500W figure is the main reason Jackery sits in a lighter backup role. If you need to run a microwave or space heater, compare the appliance’s running draw against the inverter rating first. A unit can have enough stored energy and still fail that job if the AC output is too low.
Surge Capacity For Startup Loads
Match surge capacity to the appliance’s startup spike, not just its steady draw. Jackery Explorer 500 lists 1,000W peak output against 500W continuous, so the surge headroom is explicit there. BLUETTI AC180 lists 2,700W peak output with 1,800W AC output, which gives you a wider gap for brief startup loads. EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 does not state a separate surge figure in the data above, so check the peak output number before you rely on it for motor starts. Surge capacity set these apart here because startup loads can trip a station even when the running wattage looks fine.
Battery Chemistry And Cycle Life
Choose LiFePO4 if cycle life matters more than lower weight, because that chemistry is the one tied to longer service life in this category. EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 and BLUETTI AC180 both use LiFePO4, and Delta 2 lists 3,000+ cycle life. For emergency backup, chemistry tells you more about long-term use than the capacity number does. Capacity measures stored energy, while chemistry and cycle count speak to how often that storage can be reused.
Recharge Speed From Wall Or Solar
Prioritize recharge speed from wall or solar if outages may repeat before the grid comes back. EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 refills from empty in 80 minutes with AC input, and BLUETTI AC180 lists 1 hour. Jackery Explorer 500 does support pass-through charging, but its full recharge time is not stated here. Delta 2 also accepts up to 500W of solar input, which matters when wall power is unavailable for long stretches. A fast refill does not increase stored energy, but it does reduce downtime between uses.
Expandability for longer outages with extra batteries
Look for expandability if you want one station to stretch across longer outages. EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 expands from 1kWh to 3kWh total capacity with extra batteries, and that is the clearest path here to longer runtime without changing the base unit. BLUETTI AC180 does not list expansion in the data above, so its capacity is fixed at 1,152Wh in this comparison. Jackery Explorer 500 also gives no expansion figure, so treat it as a fixed-size backup unit. If you need portable backup power for several days, expansion matters more than a slightly higher starting watt-hour number.
What Each Job Calls For vs What These Picks State
Match the job you actually need done to the figure it calls for, then check which picks state that figure or more. Where none do, the row says so.
| What you want to do | The figure it calls for | Picks at or above it |
|---|---|---|
| keep a phone and laptop running through one night | 300Wh | DELTA 2, AC180, and Explorer 500 clear it |
| recover fast after an outage and stay ready for the next one | 80 min recharge time | DELTA 2 clears it; AC180 is listed at 1 hour, and Explorer 500 does not state a recharge time |
| keep a home backup setup useful for a meaningful stretch | 1,000Wh | DELTA 2 and AC180 clear it; Explorer 500 does not, so you need a larger portable power station |
These figures are the levels this category is generally held to, not manufacturer claims. A pick at or above a figure states that number; how it reaches it and the rest of your setup still decide the job, so check them against your own workload before buying.
Who Buys Portable Power Stations, and What It Really Costs
Who buys a portable power station, and what each one needs
- Apartment renters during outages — need at least 300Wh for overnight phone and laptop backup
- Remote workers at home — need pure sine wave AC inverter for sensitive electronics and enough AC output power for a laptop, router, and monitor
- RV campers — need 12V car socket, USB-A, USB-C PD, and AC outlets for mixed-device charging without adapters
- Wedding photographers — need enough battery capacity for camera batteries and a pure sine wave AC inverter for chargers
- Small household backup planners — need around 1000Wh when they want meaningful runtime for higher-draw appliances
- DIY hobbyists with power tools — need 1800W AC output for startup loads that can trip weaker stations
What a portable battery generator really costs, and where to buy one
What to budget for on top of the portable battery generator
- Wall charger — needed if the unit does not include a fast recharge brick
- Solar panel — needed for off-grid recharging during long outages or trips
- Extension cord — needed to place the station away from the appliance or charging area
- Adapter cables — needed when a device uses a plug type the station does not provide
- Storage bag or cover — needed to keep accessories together and reduce dust during home storage
What you can leave out of the budget
- Car jump starter — unnecessary because a portable power station is for device power, not starting engines
- Gasoline generator fuel can — unnecessary if you are using battery backup instead of fuel-powered backup
- Heavy-duty power strip — unnecessary when the station already provides the needed outlet mix
- Voltage converter — unnecessary for buyers using the station’s built-in AC outlets with compatible devices
Where this kind of product is normally sold
- Big-box electronics retailers — usually offer straightforward returns, in-store pickup, and basic warranty help
- Outdoor and camping stores — often bundle charging accessories and cater to buyers who want portable backup for trips
- Home improvement chains — useful for emergency-backup shoppers who want easy returns and local pickup
- Online marketplaces — wide price spread and many seller policies, so buyers should check return windows and warranty handling
- Direct brand stores online — often make warranty registration and support routing simpler, with fewer middleman steps
What It Takes to Run One, and What to Verify
What these backup power stations need before they work
Without a power source, the station cannot store energy for backup use.
- EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 includes an AC charging cable, so it works with the cable in the box and its 80-minute full charge time.
- BLUETTI AC180 also includes an AC charging cable, a car charging cable, and a solar charging cable. That gives you three charging paths before an outage ends.
- Jackery Explorer 500 includes an AC adapter and a car charger cable. It does not list solar charging in the included items.
- Jackery Explorer 500 uses a lithium-ion battery pack, while DELTA 2 and AC180 use LiFePO4. For long indoor storage, LiFePO4 is the chemistry many buyers prefer for cycle life and house storage.
What to check when your home outage power station arrives
Cover differs by seller and country, so check the unit itself first. You want to catch a mismatch before the return window closes.
- Confirm the AC outlet count and layout. DELTA 2 lists 15 outlets, AC180 lists 8, and Explorer 500 lists 1 AC outlet. That affects how many devices you can plug in without adapters.
- Confirm the charging cables are present. DELTA 2 should include an AC charging cable, AC180 should include AC, car, and solar cables, and Explorer 500 should include an AC adapter and a car charger cable.
- Check the battery chemistry label on the unit. DELTA 2 and AC180 use LiFePO4, while Explorer 500 uses a lithium-ion battery pack. That matters if you want the chemistry suited to long indoor storage.
- Check the AC outlet voltage if you plan to power a device that needs a specific input. Explorer 500 lists 110V, while AC180 lists 120 Volts (AC).
The first thing to do is plug the station in and confirm it starts charging normally while the return option is still open.
Portable Power Stations for Emergency Backup: The Questions This Choice Raises
Which emergency backup power station suits a small setup?
A small emergency backup power station suits you when you want 518Wh and 500W, not a whole-home reserve. Jackery Explorer 500 gives you 1 AC outlet, 3 USB-A ports, 2 DC ports, and 1 car port for lighter outage loads.
How much battery capacity do you need for home outage power?
Home outage power gets easier to plan once you know the battery capacity, which is stored energy measured in watt-hours. EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 holds 1,024Wh, while BLUETTI AC180 holds 1,152Wh, so both give you far more reserve than a 518Wh unit.
How much does it cost to fully recharge the unit from empty?
For a full recharge from empty, EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 takes 80 minutes with AC input, and BLUETTI AC180 takes 1 hour. Jackery Explorer 500 does not state a full-charge time, so you should check that figure before you plan wall-outlet recovery time.
Which battery generator for blackouts should I buy if I need fast recovery?
If fast recovery matters most, the battery generator for blackouts that recharges quickest is the one with the shortest full-charge time. BLUETTI AC180 reaches full charge in 1 hour, and EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 follows at 80 minutes, while Jackery Explorer 500 does not state a recharge time.
Beginners should first learn about different battery power station types.
Who Should Skip These Portable Battery Generators
If your work needs 1,000Wh-class backup for a home office, server rack, or medical load, these three picks are the wrong tool. They are portable power stations, not whole-home systems with the scale for long outages.
For that job, move up to a larger home backup battery or a fixed inverter setup with higher stored energy and AC output. Think of it like using a lunch cooler for a weeklong trip; the shape is right, but the capacity is not.
Browse our other battery power station pages
- Choosing the Best Portable Power Station for Small Apartments Under $500
- Best Portable Power Station for Camping
- Portable Power Station for Home Backup Under $500 Compared
- Choosing the Best Portable Power Station for CPAP
- The Portable Power Stations That Work Best for Travel
- Which Portable Power Station Is Best for Hiking?
